Sketch Experiment : Snippets of London

Last year in London, while I was reading about how we fragment our lives and become entrenched in individualism, I started to madly sketch people. These are very rough sketches because my interactions with them lasted minutes. The thing is, we are constantly encountering people during our day, yet we act like they don’t exist. In London, so many people just find a way to tune out from the millions of people around them. Something funny happened though. When I started to sketch people started to look around them a bit more. It was funny. I am going to share some of these but bear in mind they aren’t that good, but that’s sort of the point. It reminds me of how everyone has a story just like I wrote in this post

This man was Palestinian , and we were in the train for quite a long time. He did not look up once. There was something very interesting about his features.

This one was snippets of things I saw on my forty minute Train ride. It was just snippets but the woman sleeping was beautiful, with a huge afro and model features.

This is more what I imagined people see fleetingly

I wonder how many people randomly flash through your head that are the summary of all the people you encounter during the day.

This kid was cool, but also so quintessentially sums up the English experience on the Tube.

Sketches of girl in Waterloo station
A sad girl in the Northern Line in London

This girl was sad and vulnerable. No one noticed.

His eyes seemed to pierce right through me

I don’t remember who he was, but clearly his eyes are striking.

The man in Waterloo Station, Costa Coffee. He had a crisp white shirt, and flowing silver hair
The boy spent the whole time staring adoringly at his girlfriend. It was adorable.
2 thoughts on “Sketch Experiment : Snippets of London

Leave a Reply

