The bittersweet taste of pain

Lately I have been thinking about the concept of pain. I have gone through a lot of tests lately that have tried me in ways I never thought possible. I am literally living out all my fears.
However, in my self indulgent attitude, I quickly saw how bravely people take on their tests. One of my friends literally went through an earthquake and lost a home, and then her brother went through an earthquake in Japan. Another got a tumour removed. We hear about the enormous suffering in Iran. A cousin of my best friend is now in jail because of her beliefs. The kids in my junior youth group aren´t going to school, have dads in prison and are treated like unwanted cargo wherever they go.

Life is unfair, cruel and cold. That´s one way of looking at it. But let´s take a look at all those great heroes of the past. Did they live cushy lives? Mostly the answer is no. They suffered a great deal. The Manifestations of God like Jesus Christ suffered when all They did was bring goodness to the world.
So what is this mysterious thing about pain and suffering?
“O Son of Being! Busy not thyself with this world, for with fire We test the gold, and with gold We test Our servants.”

This sounds kind of well, easy in theory. But when we get that exquisite pain that really just bowls us over how can we cope? We cope because after the fire , we are better people. stronger and somehow we weather the storm. Nothing is forever.
Yes we do have scars. I know that I have things in my life I don´t know if I ever will truly recover from. But that´s ok it also made me who I am. The important thing is this : We are not alone in the world. We do not suffer alone nor should we let others suffer . We should serve others with all our might, because that´s the only way we can really get through it.

Leave a Reply

