Come back

I looked at him. He had an annoying, self contained smile. ” I am leaving and not coming back” . He scoffed, chewing his uneven broken fingernails. He had the kind of face that was ugly in a certain light and beautiful at another. There was a scar left over from the war that criss crossed his cheek. But his eyes were a deep mossy green that were made of mountains and green earth. You could get lost in those eyes. ” you’ll be back” he snorted. ” You don’t leave this place, it goes with you”
What was it about him that made me always go back?
I knew that I would be back but I dreaded that he was right. But I always belonged to him. Always. Even when I didn’t know that I did.
So , El Salvador , you were right. I came back. You are always with me.

Leave a Reply

