Finding Home

I remember once when I was 14 I wrote in this very old computer in the Bahai Centre, it was about finding being old and being charged to the chains of routine…and feeling like I was slowly dying.
Now, this is more than melodramatic…but what the heck makes me feel so scared about settling down?
How can I possibly make a life if I don’t think about it?

Home is where the heart is….
But what if your heart is scattered in a thousand directions?

I had planned on moving somewhere but it didn’t work out. I have to now start from scratch and pick up the pieces. Starting from 0 ad thinking : Now what? What I should be doing?
” Maryam , the problem is you are always thinking of the next trip, of the next move forward”>>…” I never saw this as a problem. I always wanted to discover, to go places, to find new adventures
I remember once when I was 14 I wrote in this very old computer in the Bahai Centre, it was about finding being old and being charged to the chains of routine…and feeling like I was slowly dying.
Now, this is more than melodramatic…but what the heck makes me feel so scared about settling down?
How can I possibly make a life if I don’t think about it?
I speak with other third culture kids, and they all have the same dilemma, it’s like the idea of moving is more normal than staying put…the idea of a suitcase seems more sane than buying furniture. It’s scary but true.
So now, I have to pick a place. Stick with it and when things get tough not try to bolt somewhere else.
That’s the hard part.
Let’s stay tuned and see if it works.
I always thought I would settle down when i get married but maybe it’s not that simple.

Leave a Reply

